Sherrock fightback secures first title of 2022

Fallon Sherrock trailed Joanne Locke 3-1 after four legs of the final of Event Three in Barnsley before staging a comeback to defeat her opponent 5-3; Lisa Ashton, who had won Events One and Two, was knocked out in the last 64

Last Updated: 13/03/22 5:31pm

Fallon Sherrock has won her first PDC Women’s Series title of 2022 after fighting back to overcome Joanne Locke in Event Three

Fallon Sherrock reeled off four legs in a row to seal a comeback victory against Joanne Locke and collect her first PDC Women’s Series title of the year.

The ‘Queen of the Palace’ trailed Locke 3-1 in the final of Event Three in Barnsley before mounting a determined fightback to triumph 5-3 and win her eighth title overall.

Both finalists had earlier won their semis by a resounding margin, with Sherrock seeing off Aileen de Graaf 5-1 and Locke victorious against Rhian Griffiths by the same scoreline.

Having taken the opening leg with a double five, Sherrock was pegged back as her opponent hit a 180 and the pair then traded maximums in the third before Locke edged it to go 2-1 up.

Premier League Darts

March 14, 2022, 7:30am

Live on

Locke’s 177 to leave 24 then enabled her to open up a two-leg advantage but Sherrock held with a 45 checkout, reducing the deficit to 3-2.

The 27-year-old levelled with another 180 and a 55 checkout, regaining the lead with double eight and finally wrapping up victory with a 68 checkout in the eighth leg.

Lisa Ashton, who had won both of the first two events in the PDC Women’s Series on Saturday, missed out on the chance of a hat-trick after going down 4-3 to Donna-Maria Rainsley in the last 64.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.